Happy New Year!!!

Greetings friends! I hope everyone had a nice holiday, and that the start of 2016 brings good things.  A lot of people are glad to see the old year go, something I completely understand. 2015 was a pretty good year for me, however. The highlight being that I got a new job that, so far, I love and seems to be a perfect fit for both my professional skills and my personality–a rare combination.

[Minor Spoiler Alert: The post makes a vague reference to something that happens in Chapter 23, but doesn’t give details]

I haven’t updated the story in an embarrassingly long time. I haven’t stopped working on it. I’ve indulged my tendency to write ahead, as the current chapter has me struggling. As one of my resolutions, I intend to keep writing and to update the story in 2016. And I tend to be good at keeping resolutions, so there’s that. I still hear from old readers from time to time, which always makes me happy. And I know that I have a few new ones on board.

I had a really interesting moment of inspiration last week when I saw The Force Awakens, one I was not expecting at all. I don’t talk too often about “face claims” on this site but suffice to say that I have a faces in mind when I write. In the cinematic adaptation of the Disaster, Elspeth is portrayed by Gemma Whelan, Trygve by Rupert Young (Craig Parker was considered, but had to quit due to scheduling conflicts), Evangeline by Lindsay Duncan, and so on and so forth.

Since he’s not a prominent character (or even alive), I only occasionally tried to think of someone for Andil, Elspeth’s childhood best friend and first love. I had a few ideas in mind with actors ranging from Colin Morgan to Gabriel Garcia Bernal. However, all that ended when I saw Adam Driver playing Kylo Ren. Adam Driver IS Andil. Full stop. And never have I been so inspired to use some contrived plot device to bring him back. Since I’ve already done that once, I have no intention of repeating it. There is, however, a chapter that includes flashback’s to Elspeth’s past in which Andil is present, so the inspiration wasn’t completely useless.

So, I’ll keep writing. And one day I will surprise those of you who have stuck around with a slew of new chapters. I will also post a summary of the plot, so the context of the new chapters are clear. In the meantime, have a wonderful holiday!

9 thoughts on “Happy New Year!!!

  1. Elspeth, I checked back here and was so happy to see that you continue to work on the Disaster! I have been lurking and reading from the beginning. Time to say hello. Gratz on the job and best wishes for 2016.

    1. Hello! So glad to hear from you. I hope to have the new chapter up soon. January is turning into a busy month, but I figure if I write a little every day, I can have it up soon. I’m aiming for the 31st.

Leave a Reply

