Greetings and Salutations XX

Almost there….

I am determined to have the next chapter up this week.  After that we have the first of many chapters I’ve had written for a long time now.  It will need some tweaking, but it won’t be another six week wait, I promise.

Then at some point, I’ll be posting the prologue to my new story, the Dawnguard-based Under the Purple Sky. I am sort of stupidly excited about having a story that has an actual title and something resembling a structure and isn’t dovahkiin-centered.

I hope everyone is doing well.  I miss you guys.  If you’ve got a second, drop a note and let me know what you’re doing these days.  Lately, I’ve been working and writing, so it’s much of the same.  I’ve been staying up way too late watching my old favorite shows: BSG, X-Files, Millennium, as well as newer favorites: Game of Thrones and Merlin.   I’m also very, very excited for Edgelanders, which Erica will be releasing soon under her real name.  Check out her site for more details.

21 thoughts on “Greetings and Salutations XX

  1. jennybeanses

    I haven’t talked to you since before the holidays. I hope you’re doing well. I’m still writing, every day. I just started officially working on Mirien’s side of the story, and I’m thinking about putting it up on my Erica site. I haven’t decided yet. I really loved the process of sharing with you all as I was writing it. It made the story feel more intimate to me while I was writing. Though I suppose I should share the last rough chapters before I do that if I do decide to go through with it, even though those chapters feel cringe-worthy when I think about them. That’s all I’m up to. I hope you’re doing lots of writing. Erica/Jenny

    Reply
    1. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

      I think you should, mostly because I am insanely curious about Mirien. Would her story tell what happened after Lorelei left or just up until that point? I’m still writing. Right now in addition to the fan fiction and some world building and character development for an original story, I’m also working on the non-fiction blog off and onn. One of the ideas I have is to sort of review/analyze pop-culture, but as an overview of all the things I’ve ever loved, so it would go all the way back to He-Man and the Master’s of the Universe and go through Buffy and all that. It would also give me an excuse to reread my favorite young-adult novels. We’ll see.

      Reply
      1. jennybeanses

        Her story would run alongside Lorelei’s, and the eventual goal would be to bring them together in a book down the line. I may do it. I’m about three chapters in now, and really loving her.

  2. Pyrelle

    YAY, more Elspeth! I was writing an original fan fic for Zander but my computer lost every thing I had so, 40 pages just vanished now I’m at square one again. Since I no longer have the idea notes I kept on the original story I am looking at a big fat nothing on the screen. So between that and actually getting Zander to Falkreath for his npc play through, my patience has worn to a tiny nub. So, I play prison architect and Sims 3 to ease the pain.

    Reply
    1. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

      Oh that is frustrating. Poor Zander, it’s always something with him. Well, at least you know he’s living a relatively calm life somewhere in Elspeth’s Skyrim. I’ve got a mention of him coming up in several chapters.

      Reply
    2. chroniclesofkash

      Man that sucks Pyrelle, I know the feeling but just on a smaller scale (I only lost 1 chapter). But I do hope that you eventually find the motivation to finally get Zander to Falkreath because he was one of my main inspirations for Kash. If not though I also have a small Easter Egg planned for Zander in mine as well, so his “memory” will still live on lol 🙂

      Reply
    3. Wendy Schardein

      Heh, oops. I called you sweetie, thinking you were somebody else that I correspond regularly whose username is very close to yours. Sorry about that. Losing all those pages does suck, though.

      Reply
  3. Wendy Schardein

    It’s good to hear from you! I’ve been writing, working on my tarot cards, and trying to get healthy. The hubby and I just finished a short story which will come out in the spring as part of an anthology of fairy tales gone askew. We did a new take on Aladdin’s Lamp, and we’re pretty excited about it!

    Reply
    1. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

      I think I accidentally deleted this response when I saw it on my phone. Sorry about that! I want to read this Aladdin’s Lamp story. Does the Anthology have a webpage?

      Reply
  4. chroniclesofkash

    Hey Elsepth, happy to hear you are still going strong with your story and I’m excited for the new chapter! I also wanted to thank you again for all your comments on mine. It has really helped me stay motivated to continue writing. I was frustrated for a couple weeks because I had ch 8 all written out ready to go, then it got erased on an upgrade similar to what happened to Pyrelle…but I plan to write it out again and get it posted this week.

    Reply
    1. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

      Comments are so motivating so I always try to leave them. That and I just love chatting about people’s characters and the game. Once I get my chapter up, I’ll be back to reading too.

      Reply
    1. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

      I had to google about the hoax. I haven’t played Fallout yet (though I read a fan fiction someone started on dA) but you’d think with the gaming sites I follow, I might have run into that.

      Anyway, it’s good to hear from you and expect an update here very, very soon.

      Reply
  5. ncdogg

    I reread your chapter where Elspeth fights the dragon at the watchtower to give me some inspiration for my new fight scene between Athena and the dragon. However, I didn’t read it all the way through before I remembered Elspeth broke her ankle at the end. It would be different from Athena though, in that Athena fell off the stairs of the tower, but I’ve decided to rewrite the scene anyways and figure out a different ending that doesn’t sound too outlandish.

    I had it all planned out too. Oh well. Great minds think alike.

    And that’s about it. Haha. I know you’ve been reading my updates, so I guess I already know what you’re up to and you probably know what I’m up to.

    Reply
    1. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

      I have been reading your updates. You also had a poll on your site that I meant to go respond to but some work/life issue called me away. If you still want opinions on that (I think it was first v. third person POV) let me know.

      Reply
      1. ncdogg

        Of course! I’ll announce the winning answer on Thursday. That will have given my viewers a week to have responded to the poll. ^^

        Thanks, Elspeth!

Leave a Reply

