In the Meantime I: Something Unexpected this Way Comes

[A/N: The following contains mild descriptions of romantic sexuality that may not be suitable for individuals under the age of fifteen…or anyone really.]

Elspeth gasped.  “What is this place?”  She looked around, eyes wide with an almost child-like wonder. 

“They are the hot springs of Eastmarch,” he explained, “and quite possibly the only desirable thing about this hold.”

“I thought you said we wouldn’t talk of politics.”  She paused for a moment as she continued to scan the area.  “But, I have to ask…is it okay for us, for you, to be here?”

He grinned.  “I’m pretty sure the Stormcloaks have better things to do than to search the hot springs for wandering Jarls.”  Still, he glanced behind him to confirm that his housecarl was in sight.  Irileth was perched atop a fallen tree, keeping a lookout.  And also wearing a chef’s tunic, but for some reason that did not strike him as strange.

Elspeth didn’t waste any time before removing her clothing.  For a moment, she stood naked in the sun, stretching her arms before lowering herself into the steaming pool and sinking her whole body under the water.  When she came up again, she was beaming as she shook her dripping hair out of her eyes. 

Balgruuf quickly removed his own robe and boots; placed his weapon down and slipped out of his loincloth.  He found a ledge and eased into the pool, letting the hot water relax his tense muscles.  Elspeth, on the other hand, didn’t want to sit still.  She splashed and jumped up and down, enjoying the chilly air on her skin before plunging herself back into the hot water.  Every time she emerged, he marveled at her muscular frame and her firm breasts, her areolas hardened by the frigid air. 

As he leaned back and closed his eyes, he could not recall the last time he felt so content.  Blissful, even.  

Soon he felt the water around him surge a bit and Elspeth’s hands on his knees as she brought herself up to straddle his lap.  “Thank you for bringing me here,” she said quietly.

He pushed the wet locks of hair out of her eyes.  “You are so very welcome,” he said, though he barely finished the sentence before she pressed her lips to his.  He loved that she was assertive and reveled in the way she gripped him between her bent legs.  She was just as strong as he imagined.  He pulled her forward and groped her backside, her thighs, her hips.

After several moments, she pulled her head away from his and as he righted himself on the ledge, she drew herself up over his hips—paused for just a moment before taking him inside.  He gasped and groaned and as he clutched her waist, he began to—

Balgruuf woke with a start and sat bolt upright as he tried to recall where he was.  He rubbed his eyes with his fists and let out a loud gasp as he looked around anxiously.  It was dark and he was sitting in something cold and wet.  But he was in his bed, in his quarters.  Elspeth wasn’t there, which distressed him far more than it probably should have.

“Is everything all right my lord?”  Saadia was roused from sleep at his sudden movement.  He could feel her curling her body around his and it made him uncomfortable  “Is there anything I can do?”  Balgruuf struggled against recoiling as she ran her fingertips up his thigh.  Suddenly her touch, which earlier had been astonishing, sating every one of his primal desires, was disconcerting and irritating.

He swallowed against the unease growing in his throat.  “No, my dear,” he said as he clutched her hand and gently pushed it away.  “Go back to sleep.  I just need some air.”  He sat up and quickly put his robe on.  He walked out of his room and left his quarters—exiting onto the balcony.  He stepped down to the far edge and leaned over the rail, letting out a deep breath as he looked over his city.

From the moment Elspeth had left Dragonsreach, he’d been thinking about her constantly.  Not once had he denied his attraction to her; she was adorable and charming—in an irreverent sort of way.  But he’d focused on all his thoughts on being good mentor and how me might make the young Dragonborn’s life easier.  Now he thought back to the dream.  He smiled at how peaceful and perfect it felt.  But when he recalled how sad he was when he woke up and she wasn’t there, his heart sank and he buried his face in his hands.

“Sweet Dibella’s tit, what the fuck am I going to do?”

 

 

25 thoughts on “In the Meantime I: Something Unexpected this Way Comes

  1. Wendy Schardein

    “Sweet Dibella’s tit.” Haven’t heard that one before!

    This was awesome. I loved it. The imagery was great and just surreal enough to give it a dreamlike quality. It also brought to mind the scene in Buffy the Vampire Slayer when Spike dreamed about Buffy and realized he was in love with her.

    Reply
  2. Erica

    I love this. I think it turned out splendidly. And Wendy is right. It does sort of remind of that whole scene when Spike realized he was in love with Buffy. Now what will become of Balgruuf’s unrequited love. Is every interaction between them going to pose severe discomfort? Gods, I hope so. hehehehe

    Reply
  3. Pyrelle

    HAHAHAHA, this was great. I can’t help feel bad for Saadia more than Balgruuf she has no idea that from this point on she is nothing more than a warm place for his member on cold nights.

    Reply
    1. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

      You know, I bet Balgruuf probably has a bit of reputation. I think Saadia knows to stay guarded. That isn’t to say, however, that she won’t feel a little slighted later.

      Reply
  4. adantur

    I like! You know I find myself unable to blame Balgruuf after that imagery and reading the blog, Elspeth is awesome and I can see why his character would attracted to her. Spot on.

    Reply
    1. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

      Thank you. I don’t know if you saw me mention it before in the comments, but I originally envisioned their relationship as very Admiral Adama/Starbuck in nature and this was probably the very first instance (way back before I even started posting) where I felt like the character crawled into my head and really took over.

      Reply
      1. adantur

        Oh yes I remember, I see what you mean, these powerful authority figures need a spunky woman to challenge them once in a while. I can totally empathise with Balgruuf, not that I’m anyway powerful or authoritative myself haha!

      2. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

        I really wanted the story to have some sort of love triangle/conflict simply because it was so much fun to write in my last story. I like adding Balgruuf because there is potential for issues of power/politics to play into things and it doesn’t just become a poorly written romantic comedy. Mostly I’m just looking forward to having everyone becoming increasingly aware of Balgruuf’s feelings for Elspeth while she remains oblivious.

      1. Lulzy

        Old for me. I’ll actually bother doing the math one of these days…

        THERE ARE NO GOOD ENDINGS UNLESS EVERYONE LIIIIIIIIIVES (happily ever after in stagnant bliss! <3)

      2. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

        Yep and that’s not going to happen. The other day while waiting for something at work, I wrote down all the people I plan to kill in this book (not including NPC/quest deaths) so I could count them.

    1. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

      I’m glad you found it amusing I was sort of chuckling and rolling my eyes at myself. Then I thought, if I had mods, I could have set this scene up for a screenshot.

      Reply
  5. Grub the Orc

    ” Still, he glanced behind him to confirm that his housecarl was in sight. Irileth was perched atop a fallen tree, keeping a lookout. And also wearing a chef’s tunic, but for some reason that did not strike him as strange.” – Kinky Balgruuf, i think that he has some exhibitionist fetishes. and a food fetish. Also, it now makes so much sense as to why the Alik’r couldn’t enter Whiterun… he was protecting Saadia from them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

