Greetings and Salutations XI: Update (And a Request)

I don’t know why I’m dragging my heels on this chapter.  It’s been mostly written for a while.  There is one part that is a little stressful, but nothing that would justify the amount of time it has taken to write it.  In any case, I’m determined to post it this weekend.  After that, I’m going back to setting specific writing goals.  It’s working for the other project I have going and I think I need to incorporate the Epic Disaster into those goals.  There is no reason why I can’t meet a 750-1000/words-per-day goal with my current schedule.  I think the nice weather will help as well.  I can already feel my non-winter energy levels returning and there are some things coming up in the story about which I am very, VERY excited.  Given all that, I should be returning to my once/week posting schedule shortly.

Also, my blog’s one-year anniversary is coming up.  If anyone has a suggestion for how I should mark the occasion, let me know.  I’ve included a form below that will send things to my email, if anyone would rather not post in the comments.

17 thoughts on “Greetings and Salutations XI: Update (And a Request)

  1. setting goals is a good thing, glad you feel your mojo returning. As for an idea how to celebrate aside from the awesome Kahjiit idea maybe have a short story about a surprise birthday party for one of the characters and make it as awkward as possible with a streaker or stripper of some sort or something like that. Also this could take place in the companions hall or Dragons Reach.

      1. Well, he’s Thane of the Rift and he knows most of the people in Riften. And as the next chapter will reveal, he knows several people in Solitude. Some more than others.

      2. Plus, if Lydia were to get drunk around him, she is more likely to pick a fight with him about Alteration spells than strip. In fact, I think that pretty much happens off-stage as it were.

      3. Er, does he know Mjoll well? For some reason I thought of her. Maybe she’s got a crush on Trygve or summat, and gets juuuuust tipsy enough to bare all.

      4. Yeah, they’re friends. Him being Thane and her being a righteous do-gooder. I’m not sure she has a crush on him but I could see a bit of drunken revelry gone awry.

    1. I liked modern AUs when visual artists do them–like the hipster Companions on dA and the image of Enthir in a track suit the color of his robes that I got someone on Tumblr to draw. They tend not to work as well in writing, but I’ll see what I can do.

  2. Adam West likes an all-Khajiit episode, but then everyone would realize how much better a story is when all the characters are Khajiits, so perhaps one should not tread that path. Adam West instead suggests a Skyrim cooking show episode. Lydia could demonstrate how to create a delicious pulled mammoth snout with a barbeque sauce made from moon sugar, tomatoes, honey, and crimson nirnroot.

Leave a Reply

