Greetings and Salutations: VIII

Worst. Writer’s Block. Ever.

I don’t know what it is about this chapter, but I have a bunch of knots and blank spaces that I can’t seem to work my way through.  It’s not the quest/plot this time, it’s trying to balance my main characters with the NPC that appears in this chapter.

Anyway, I have enough written that I can see the end.  Perhaps I will take my lap top to a coffee house or a tavern tonight and try to fuel my creativity with a pretentious mocha latte or a frilly cocktail.  It will be done, however.  And soon.  Because at some point I’ll just be “happy” with what I’ve written and just proofread and publish it.

24 thoughts on “Greetings and Salutations: VIII

  1. Davidx123

    I forgot about everything related to creativity, which hurts me. I no longer read, write, or draw, and my mood is down because of that.

    I try to write, but… welp, not working.

    Reply
    1. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

      I hope it comes back for you. Sometimes it helps if I do the least creative thing I can think of–something more physical than mental. The weather is unseasonably warm here so I’ll probably take a long walk later to try to work through some of these knots. That’s often when I generate my best ideas.

      Reply
  2. Vahkiin

    I hate. hate. hate. writers block. Especially when you’re fingers and brain WANT to go and you can FEEL the words there but they won’t just manifest and come out.

    On a side note. Cocktails for the win. I am doing that tonight because with a steady buzz, it totally feels like you’re typing 200 WPM. haha
    I will also finish off the cupcakes my beautiful Mr. bought me. I’ve only eaten three today and it would be a sin to actually use self control.

    Reply
    1. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

      I was supposed to make cupcakes for my kid’s birthday tonight but I’m making a cake instead. And yeah, what’s the point of having self-control if you can’t lose it and eat twenty cupcakes? I’ll never understand.

      Reply
      1. Britte

        I’m not a dessert person but for whatever reason, I NEEDED those cupcakes. There’s one left and after a few drinks and some random netflix movie. It’s going to be devoured.

  3. adantur

    Cocktails in a tavern?! They’re some queer taverns you have in the States.

    Regarding the writer’s block, I am sorry to hear that you’ve not yet managed to resolve it, as you know my virtual door is always open.

    Reply
    1. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

      ahem:

      tav·ern
      /ˈtavərn/
      Noun
      An establishment for the sale of beer and other drinks to be consumed on the premises, sometimes also serving food.

      Beer and OTHER drinks.

      OTHER DRINKS.

      Reply
    2. Pyrelle

      I don’t think it is odd, weird, unusual or strange for a “Tavern” to serve cocktails at all. Since the definition of a tavern as stated by Elspeth is that of an establishment that serves beer as well as other drinks and possibly food. Not to mention the word cocktails definition is :” Any of various mixed alcoholic drinks consisting usually of brandy, whiskey, vodka, or gin combined with fruit juices or other liquors and often served chilled.”

      So by those definitions you are telling me that taverns across the pond only serve beer? That sounds a little more odd to me.

      Reply
      1. adantur

        If you walked into a proper pub in England and asked for a Long Island Iced Tea you’d probably, depending on how rough the area is:
        a) Get laughed at or…
        b) Get laughed at and then promptly battered.

        Wetherspoons and the like are a different story but then they’re not what I’d refer to as taverns.

      2. Pyrelle

        I can guarantee I can go to any “pub” in the world and ask for my favorite cocktail and no one would blink. As for get laughed out I highly doubt anyone would laugh anyone out of anywhere as for battered all I have to say is I wish them luck with that.

      3. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

        I don’t know. People can be weird jerks about things depending on the culture. But I’m finding it hard to believe you can’t get a cocktail in a proper pub. Like, not even a gin and tonic?

      4. Pyrelle

        Honestly it has nothing to do with luck really. When it comes right down to it, no one really gives a shit what you are drinking, if you are going to get laughed at or beat down or whatever you think might happen it will not be for your drink order.

      5. adantur

        Probably, they’re not THAT old-fashioned ha. Like I said this is proper small-town, old fashioned pubs I’m talking about here. The majority of them, as you say, serve anything.

Leave a Reply

