Greetings and Salutations V: Refined Milestones

Instead of working yesterday afternoon, I played Dragonborn.  I love Dragonborn.  I haven’t even started the main quest—I’ve done nothing but explore.  It’s brought me back to the days when I discovered Morrowind and lost three pounds because for a week I would get up, have a zone bar and a diet Pepsi for breakfast and then play for 9 hours straight until my then boyfriend (now husband) got home from work.  Then there was the time I played for 14 hours straight and felt seasick when I went to bed that night.  I was hooked.   And to think, I had no idea, even then, how far my obsession would take me.

So, because I am now a grown up, I had to make up the work I skipped yesterday this morning.  I got out of bed, puttered down the hallway and after turning my computer on, proceeded to check the stats page on my blog.

9,999

Needless to say, it’s really hard to get any work done when you’re compelled to refresh a webpage every 30—45 seconds.  And a half hour later, I arrived.

Ten Thousand

I knew that I would hit 10,000 views before the end of the year but I honestly did not think it would be so soon.   I’ve been thinking about what I want to say to mark the occasion (other than, “Mr. Elspeth, we’re getting ice-cream tonight) and my mind keeps wandering back to April and the circumstances that led me to start the blog.  I was searching for a picture of Ulfric’s throne (the Throne of Ysgramor, the Throne of his father…anyway) so that I could see how big the fire-bowl-things on either side of him were.  In doing so, I came across Erica’s blog and I started reading.  And commenting.  I mentioned I was writing my own story and she asked to read it.  At that point I had no intention of posting it, but I felt encouraged by her interest and after some tweaking, I started the blog.

For those of you who’ve been enjoying the story so far, believe me when I say that the blog would not exist if not for her.   She continues to inspire me and also helps me work out knots that have left me frustrated enough to quit all together.  And for the rest of you who follow along, provide comments, let me occasionally pick your brains over email, and occasionally spoil me rotten with beautiful artwork—know that I am so grateful.   Were it not for you, the story would probably not exist in its current state.  I’m fairly certain it would have been a series of scattered and disconnected scenes, populated by Mary Sues who fight half-assed battle scenes and have incredibly tedious love lives.

Thank you again!  I will have the next chapter up in a couple of days.  By Monday morning I hope.

28 thoughts on “Greetings and Salutations V: Refined Milestones

  1. Mjolna Direnni

    Congratulations! It was Erica that inspired me to starting writing all the stories I came up with an start my own blog, though I’ve never told her this. I can only hope that one day my stories are as good as yours and hers. You both are absolutely fantastic.

    Reply
      1. adantur

        I look forward to reading it, I’ve been kinda waylaid today with the football and an assignment so I don’t think I’ll make my 00:59 deadline =[

  2. Vahkiin

    I played Dragonborn for about 7 hours straight last night. (Nope, no sleep for me haha) Even on a 55′ inch, my eyes started to hurt so I decided to fight with Frenya today and she left me exhausted. No joke, I called her a bitch and slammed my laptop shut.
    ^^ random tangent.

    Congrats on 10,000! I have been reading her story over between new chapters being posted just so I can relive her adventures 🙂

    Reply
    1. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

      Thanks!

      I’m struggling with characters right now too. They aren’t cooperating with me and I’m pissed off. I took a break from this chapter earlier and wrote out some future conversations that just made me sad. But they came out so easily, so that was good.

      Reply
      1. Pyrelle

        If you ever need any help I am almost always online everyday between 4pm cst and 11 pm cst. I might even re-install yahoo IM if you need me to….Yes the issues with my game have driven me to the point of slamming my head against a wall if I don’t get it fixed so I can write soon.

      2. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

        Thanks. They are (almost) all original characters, which is doubly frustrating because I can’t just play the game and get some inspiration. I think I’m almost done and if I print it out, I may be able to work out some of the knots. If I get really stuck, maybe I’ll pass a couple of passages on to you.

        Actually, here’s something you can tackle. I made my husband try to think of this as well. What’s a type of training method that would seem torturous. I’m actually tempted to go back and watch the training scenes in Kill Bill with Pai Mei.

      3. Pyrelle

        I guess I would first need to know what kind of “torturous training” you are looking for? Do you want sadistic methods to create a villain or do you want hero training?

      4. Pyrelle

        Ok, so extreme warrior training. I can do that, it is basically Mr. Miyagi but more intense. Instead of “paint the fence” it would be more like “paint the fence with the hair of a unicorns hair found on the top of the tallest mountain, and wear this 100 pound pack.” oh and the unicorn is protected by 5 ogres and 3 giants but that was never mentioned. the lesson learned is nothing comes easy.

      5. Elspeth Aurilie Post author

        Pretty much that, except it doesn’t have to be complicated. Mostly painful. The lesson I’m going for here is basically how to keep going through physical suffering.

Leave a Reply

